Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Shane Victorino Wins 3rd Straight Gold Glove

Phillies center fielder, Shane Victorino, continues to be recognized as one of the best outfielders in baseball. Not only is he the only Phillies player to win a Gold Glove this year, he’s the first Phils outfielder to win three consecutive Gold Glove Awards since Garry Maddox won eight consecutive from 1975-82. Victorino tied for the league lead in assists (11) and finished fifth out of 37 qualifying outfielders in the league in fielding percentage (.995) and range factor per game (2.59).
Besides the lock that Roy Halladay is winning the Cy Young, you have to figure Charlie Manuel will at least be in the discussion for Manager of the Year given the job he did with the injury-riddled Phillies roster. Announcements for those awards will happen in the coming weeks.
While Victorino may be winning the award every year simply based on reputation, he has certainly been a solid outfielder for the Phillies the past few years. Jimmy Rollins, who had won three straight Gold Gloves, didn't pick one up this year because of all of his injury issues.
The complete NL Gold Glove list:
P Bronson Arroyo (Reds)
C Yadier Molina (Cardinals)
1B Albert Pujols (Cardinals)
2B Brandon Phillips (Reds)
3B Scott Rolen (Reds)
SS Troy Tulowitzki (Phillies)
OF Michael Bourn (Astros), Carlos Gonzalez (Rockies) and Shane Victorino (Phillies)

1 comment:

  1. To my mind this is exactly what I refer to a terrific blog article! Do you run this website for your private aims exclusively or you actually exploit it profit wise?


Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter

    Conicelli Autoplex's Fan Box